MotM Interview, PopStorms, FunBrain Ads, & More

Hello my fellow Poptropicans! No, the blog isn’t dead! I know we haven’t been the most active lately, but I’m going to try my best to fix that. Of course that means I need a lot of help from my authors. More info on activity to come. 😉

Thankfully, we haven’t missed too much. However, a ton of stuff is changing over at the Poptropica Help Blog, along with its name. They are joining the Poptropica Wiki among other things, to expand the Poptropica community. To be honest, I’m a little overwhelmed by it all. However, I encourage you to go check things out.

Anyway, let’s start off with a recent interview with the illustrator for the Myserty of the Map series, Kory Merritt. Note that Capatin Crawfish had the interview, not us. 😛

Captain Crawfish: How did you get involved in illustrating Mystery of the Map? 

Kory Merritt: The Poptropica Creators originally hired me to illustrate the Poptropica comic strip. After a little while they asked me to try some graphic novel page samples, which led to me working on “Mystery of the Map” with author Max “Galactic Hot Dogs” Brallier.

CC: What are the challenges of adapting Poptropica’s art style from an online game to a graphic novel? What are the joys? 

KM: Poptropica has a very distinct style. I’m actually an art teacher by day and didn’t have much freelance experience, so working for Poptropica was the first time I had to draw someone else’s characters. It took a little while to get the hang of it – the Poptropica design might seem simple at times, but there are little details that can make or break the characters. Fortunately, the Poptropica Creators were very patient and helped guide me along. I’m pretty happy with the results, for I think the illustrations resemble the standard Poptropican model, but at the same time have a hand-drawn, comic-type feel.

CC: What’s your process for illustrating the book?

KM: I’m old-fashioned enough to still use pen and paper for the most part, but for “Mystery of the Map” I also used digital color and made corrections in Photoshop.

CC: Who’s your favorite MotM character to draw?

KM: The Vikings! It’s fun to draw angry faces.

CC: What other projects have you worked on that Poptropicans might like to know about?

KM: I draw some of my own stories, mostly just for fun. One of them is on FunBrain, and some are on GoComics.com. It seems I will also have my own illustrated book coming out later this year, published by Andrews McMeel.

Pretty cool! While on the subject of Mystery of the Map, an island for the comic series will be coming out soon!

We have proven this by multiple Daily Pops suggesting the island, along with the fact that if you search for the URL mysteryofthemapisland.com, you will be redirected to Poptropica.com.

While still talking about island sneak peeks, we have yet another image for Arabian Nights, Episode 3.

arab

Moving on, Popstorms 20 and 21 are here! 20 is entitled Practicing Powerful Poses and 21 is entitled Frantic Freckles.

Cute, as always. 😛

Moving on yet again, there is a new ad that has been popping up on FunBrain, featuring Poptropica. Of course FunBrain has always advertised for Poptropica (and vise versa), but this one is new.

 

Click here to view where the ad has been seen. You will have to refresh the page to see the 3 different versions. As you can see in the images above, the ad features some well known Poptropicans from the blogging community! We don’t know everyone shown, but we do know a lot of them. From left to right, Super Thunder, HPuterpop, Spotted Dragon (me), Green Boa, Coskit, Slanted Fish, Shaggy Tornado, Rainbow Dash/ElmoPwns, (IDK), MT/Happy Wolf, (IDK), and (IDK).

Moving on yet again… again… (I’m not great at transitions), the Creators released a fun Bingo Card that has characters from PoptropiCon Episode 3 on it.

bingo

Of course, the center title is a free space and you need to complete a row/column/diagonal to win. Good luck! 🙂

That’s all for now!

~SD

So... What do you Think?

